Wednesday Haul #28: March 11th, 2015

What a huge day for issues! I think I’m definitely going to have some things to write about this week and next–but no guarantees, because it’s crazy busy at school right now!

Top L-R: Captain Marvel #13, Deadpool #43, Guardians Team-Up #2, Howard the Duck #1, Ms. Marvel #13. Bottom L-R: New Avengers #31, Spider-Gwen #1-2, Spider-Man and the X-Men #4, Thor #6

Top L-R: Captain Marvel #13, Deadpool #43, Guardians Team-Up #2, Howard the Duck #1, Ms. Marvel #13. Bottom L-R: New Avengers #31, Spider-Gwen #1-2, Spider-Man and the X-Men #4, Thor #6

1. Captain Marvel by Kelly Sue DeConnick (2014-, Issue #13)

Last issue, Carol returned from her Earth Christmas vacation to find her ship ransacked and Chewie and Tic kidnapped! Looks like everybody wants a piece of that Flerken cat, which means Carol is officially on a rescue mission.

2. Deadpool by Gerry Duggan and Brian Posehn (2012-, Issue #43)

“Only two issues ’til Deadpool dies”! We are getting down to the wire here, and there’s definitely no shortage of enemies who want to see Deadpool… well, dead. But the question is: which one of them will succeed? My money is actually on his wife–not only is she the most capable, but she’s probably also got the most reasons.

3. Guardians Team-Up by Brian Michael Bendis (2015-, Issue #2)

Well, I wasn’t expecting great things from this series, but I was definitely expecting better. Honestly, it’s pretty juvenile, not very well-written or drawn, and heavily reliant on the MCU–none of which are things I look for in my comic books.

4. Howard the Duck by Chip Zdarsky (2015-, Issue #1)

Yep. We’re doing this. We’re totally doing this. Chip Zdarsky is making his Marvel debut as a writer for this, um… iconic character. I’m totally irrationally excited. That’s all I have to say… for now.

5. Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson (2014-, Issue #13)

Kamala has officially defeated her first supervillain, but that doesn’t mean that she isn’t still learning how to be a superhero. She’s got a lot to learn about being a hero–and being an inhuman, for that matter–but don’t worry, she’ll have some help. This is the start of a new arc on a great series, so make sure you’re reading it!

6. New Avengers by Jonathan Hickman (2013-, Issue #31)

Today’s issue of New Avengers promises to be a good one with a huge, villainous reveal by Jonathan Hickman. Hickman has my full attention for the next two months– if he didn’t already–with how much his work will affect the entire Marvel universe.

7-8. Spider-Gwen by Jason Latour (2015-, Issues #1-2)

I saw and heard some great reviews of Spider-Gwen #1–especially with the art and colours–and with #2 coming out today, I figured I’d pick up both. Also, happy Women’s History Month! Marvel has a great squad of female characters right now and many of them are getting some great variants this month.

9. Spider-Man and the X-Men by Elliott Kalan (2015-, Issue #4)

Here’s another issue of a fun series that I’ve been reading–and will probably be talking about this upcoming Monday. Gotta love Spider-Man and a bunch of X-kids getting into trouble! There isn’t a lot of continuity between issues to this point, but I kind of love the monster-of-the-week type idea that they’re going with.

10. Thor by Jason Aaron (2014-, Issue #6)

This is definitely one of my favourite ongoings (I know, I know, I keep saying that–but it’s true!) and I think it’s one of the best comics Marvel’s got right now. The Odinson is on the case of figuring out who this new Thor is–let’s just say I hope he does a better job than I’ve been doing!

Bonus:

I think everyone knows how I feel about Ales Kot at this point, right? His latest offering, The Surface, debuted today. Also, one of my favourite comic shop ladies also recommended Southern Cross from Becky Cloonan, so I picked that up too!

L-R: The Surface #1, Southern Cross #1.

L-R: The Surface #1, Southern Cross #1.

Leave a comment